Orville Peck Is Wild And Free In New Album ‘Bronco’

Canada-based country musician Orville Peck has released his sophomore album, 'Bronco’.

Orville Peck – Image © Julia Johnson

Last year was a busy one for Orville, who, among other things, supported Harry Styles in New York, covered a song for Lady Gaga's 'Born This Way' anniversary album and performed on Miley Cyrus's 'PRIDE Special' for NBC's Peacock.

Now, he's dropped a new body of work for fans to enjoy.

The rollout of 'Bronco' saw a few songs and videos released at a time across three chapters. The full album plays on the horse theme so often found in Orville's work, but this time with an exploration of freedom, breaking free from that which binds us all and all that is wild and untamed.

It follows Orville's previous album 'Pony', and previous EP 'Show Pony', where themes of love, loss and loneliness were explored. 'Bronco' advances the story arc in a bolder, newer and warmer trajectory – it was written during a time in which Orville was struggling with depression, making many personal changes.

'Bronco' is an album of healing, self-acceptance and re-emergence.

“Making this album saved my life and I can’t wait for everybody to hear it in full,” Orville says. “It’s the most proud I’ve ever felt about something and it took me my whole life to get to there. I hope some of these lyrics and songs might help people feel the same. To get to a place of self compassion and vulnerability. Acceptance of oneself – good, bad and ugly. Wild and free. A bronco.”

'Bronco' is out now.

'Bronco' Track List

1. Daytona Sand
2. The Curse Of The Blackened Eye
3. Outta Time
4. Lafayette
5. C’mon Baby, Cry
6. Iris Rose
7. Kalahari Down
8. Bronco
9. Trample Out The Days
10. Blush
11. Hexie Mountains
12. Let Me Drown
13. Any Turn
14. City Of Gold
15. All I Can Say

Orville Peck Tour Dates

20 July – Enmore Theatre – Sydney
22 July – Splendour In The Grass
24 July – Forum – Melbourne – SOLD OUT
25 July – Forum – Melbourne


instagram orange